Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

It’s Cookie Time!!

on December 13, 2011

It’s my favorite time of year, Christmas cookie time! The boys and I are starting things off with a bang — and finally opening the baker’s ammonia I’ve been chomping at the bit to use. (Much thanks to my awesome mom-in-law!)

So I really, really wanted to do an ammonia cookie (also known as Swedish Drömmar or Vanilla Dreams) and omit the coconut and make a thumbprint cookie with the dough.

 What’s left of my failed thumbprint cookie.

While very tasty, the resulting cookies were a hot mess to look at. The jam had fallen through the cookies creating a huge hole in each one. I just could not keep the cookie from spreading and sagging beneath the weight of the jam. So I made a new batch, this time adding color by rolling them in red & green sugar. The ones that I didn’t burn turned out fabulous.

Yay! It’s delicious and good-looking, just like my husband!

Here is the recipe I used, a mashed-up modification of recipes I found on the internet.

2 cups plus 2 tbs all-purpose flour

1 ¼ cup of sugar

1 cup of butter, softened

1½ tsp vanilla

1 tsp baker’s ammonia

½ – ¾ tsp salt (to taste)

colored sugars, optional

Preheat oven to 300 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Cream the butter and sugar just until sugar is incorporated into the butter, 30sec – 1 minute. Add vanilla.

Crush baker’s ammonia, being careful not to inhale it! They were used to revive fainting people for a reason. You don’t want to end up with a burned nostril and a wonky eye like me. =D

Sift together flour, salt, and ammonia and stir into butter mixture.

Dough will be very stiff. Roll dough into 1 inch balls. I used a 1/2 tablespoon to measure my dough. Roll balls in colored sugar and place on baking sheet about 2 inches apart. If your balls are soft (he he he) then put them in the refrigerator for an hour.

Place in middle rack of oven and bake 6-10 minutes, depending on your oven. Tops will be pale and edges should be golden brown.

Let cool and then enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

