Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

What To Do If You Wash a Disposable Diaper.

on February 3, 2011

It’s 5:30pm and you are in the middle of dinner, surrounded by sick, hungry children who keep bringing step stools, chairs, potties, overturned toy bins, and anything else they can get their grubby little hands on to get a closer view (and reach if you’re not paying attention) to either the extremely hot pan of meatballs and sauce or the sharp knife you are using to cut lettuce.

You manage to finish cooking without anyone getting e. coli, cut, burned, or dumping the entire meal down to the ever-hungry Beagle, when *buzz* you hear the dryer go off. Seeing as the plates are still steaming, you decide to switch out the laundry before washing hands and sitting everyone down to eat.

The freshly dried laundry feels so good on your chapped, icy hands that you almost throw the clothes on the bed and jump into the pile of them, sinking into a soft sleep. But you know that before you could flop down, two dirty little boys would be in the bed jumping and kicking and throwing clothes around like they were swimming in money. Fantasy ruined, you put clothes in hamper and open up the washer… to a horrible sight!!

Little sticky gelatinous balls.

You’ve seen this before (usually the morning after Daddy gives a baby too many bottles). Your mind starts racing as you begin ripping clothes from the washing machine. Where is it? Where is it!!! Ah ha! The diaper. It’s tripled in size — yet still completely in tact. You stare down at the clothes, covered in goo. What do you do?

1. Eat dinner, because who wants cold meatballs?

2. Procrastinate some more while bathing kids, cleaning kitchen, and singing every clean up song you know to entice your messy little boys to pick up their toys.

3. Look up online remedies, and feel better in knowing that you are not alone in your negligence. Of course, as my mom would say, that is what sorting clothes is for. But who has time for that? Not me.

4. Address the situation. A glass of wine usually helps. Then remove your clothes and shake them out. I was pretty lucky that the gel globules came off most everything except my more-expensive-than-I-would-normally-pay maxi dress. Sigh.

5. Fill washer with water, add 1/2 cup of salt. Throw clothes back in, cross fingers, and wash. I did a 4-minute regular wash.

6. Check for globules. If you’re lucky like me, there will be none, and you can get back to your documentary on life in North Korea.*

* = I did re-rinse my load and then put it in the dryer on a low setting before I got back to my documentary.

5 responses to “What To Do If You Wash a Disposable Diaper.

  1. Junkyard Sam says:

    This story is a nice cover for the fact you washed the diaper on purpose hoping we could re-use it!

  2. Danielle says:

    I am babysitting this week, and I just did this on accident last night. 😦 i washed the pull-up. I didn’t know it was still in the pants. I shook out all the clothes, still stuff from the pull-up on EVERYTHING. I washed them again. Still a ton on everything. Then i just shook them out again and threw them in the washer… then I left the house. I will see what happened when I get back to the house. If the clothes aren’t good, and there is still a ton of crap left in the washer, then I am going to take this advice. (I am assuming it will still be everywhere)…

  3. May I post this on my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pudgybums as a guest post for what to do if you wash a disposable in your washing machine? I was looking for the perfect post to share and yours is the wittiest so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

