Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

Do Your Heels a Favor…

on February 1, 2011

… and walk on your toes.

I know this has nothing to do with heels, cats, or toes…

I don’t know how I got talked into watching another M. Night Shyamalan movie at 9 o’clock at night, but I did and boy was it scary! Devil is the first of the Night Chronicles trilogy. The first thing I note is that there are no famous people in the movie and I hope that it is good. I’m not disappointed. It’s creepy from the get-go and you are already searching for the one who is the devil.

**possible spoiler alerts follow, read at your own discretion!**

So I guess right away who the devil is. But if you’ve seen any of Shyamalan’s movies, you know he does the ole switch-a-roo trick where you instantly guess who it is (correctly) and then are fooled into thinking its someone else just to be SURPRISED! at the end.  It was very, very scary — luckily most of the horror scenes were done in the dark. But for the horror-suspense freaks, there are plenty of jump and gasp worthy scenes. I kept my eyes under the covers for those. By the end you are totally confused (I thought the devil was now not an actual person in the elevator, but just like a ghost working in the dark) because everyone’s got a plausible background and then….. SCARY!!

Of course like all of Shyamalan’s movies, once the bad guy is unveiled, the movie ceases to be scary. In fact, this movie went from terrifying to touching in under 60 seconds. I even had to wipe away a few tears.

Overall, good movie. Not so scary that I couldn’t watch all of it. Good actors, especially Ramirez, the religious security guard, and the detective. Enjoyable overall with a good message — with a kind of freaky consequence: be good or the devil will get you in an elevator!!! Matt & I instantly found ourselves “confessing” our fatal flaws.

My only complaint. This is a super high-rise building filled with business men and women. Are you telling me that there weren’t worse people to kill? Maybe its cliche to mix real world events with entertainment movies but there couldn’t be at least one wall street scum-bag or sell-out politician??

At 86 minutes long, it left time for 2 episodes of Family Guy so I could flush out the nightmares of the devil popping out from my closet or under the bed. But I did have to check on my kids. =)

Leave a Reply

