Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

On the Tenth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

on December 22, 2010

… Ten Snowy Tree-tops, Nine Linzer Cookies, Eight Brazil-Nut Crescents, Seven Squirming Snapshots, Six Super Strikes, FIVE MOMENTS OF PEACE!!!!! Four Yummy Chocolate Crinkles, Three Rock-hard Sugar Cookies, Two Chocolate Melting Moments and some fabulously delicious Checkerboard Coook-kiiiees!

My cookie tins needed a splash of Christmas color!

Instead of gushing over the latest cookie (rolled butter cookies dipped in white chocolate,) today’s post is dedicated to the two VERY wonderfully good spirited individuals who went out of their way to help me today at the Toluca Lake Post Office.

Person #1 was a man who saw me walking down the alleyway to the post office (there was no close parking available) with two large and awkward packages in one hand, and two well boys in the other. He rushed up to us and took my packages and walked them ALL the way to the post office from where he had just come from!!! I was overwhelmed by his generosity and assistance and could only repay him with a smile, thanks, and “Merry Christmas!”

As the boys and I waited in line, it was announced that the post office wasn’t accepting debit cards or credit cards. Sigh… We stood for a moment as it sank in. Then we gathered the packages and me and the boys left the post office. After getting what I thought was a good grip on these packages, we walked outside in the rain. I asked Mylo and Jaxon to hold hands, and then began rearranging the packages so I could hold there hand.

And that is when Person #2 came to our aid. She rushed over to me, taking my packages before I could decline (already having received help from a stranger, I just felt guilty taking more.) She explained that she was blocked in, so instead of just sitting in her car, she would help us. We made it to the car safely and again feeling overwhelmed with gratitude, I smiled, thanked her and wished her a “Merry Christmas!”

To the two individuals that helped me and my boys at the Toluca Lake Post Office… Thank you very much and have a Very Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

