Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

On the Ninth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

on December 21, 2010

… Nine Linzer Cookies, Eight Brazil-Nut Crescents, Seven Squirming Snapshots, Six Super Strikes, FIVE MOMENTS OF PEACE!!!!! Four Yummy Chocolate Crinkles, Three Rock-hard Sugar Cookies, Two Chocolate Melting Moments and some fabulously delicious Checkerboard Coook-kiiiees!

Linzer Cookies are good for you to eat.

Happy WLS Anniversary!!  For those of you who knew me in a past life, it has been five years today that I had my surgery and transformed my life. Five years and I’ve kept it off! Five years and two babies later and I’ve kept it off! Five years and nine days of Christmas cookies and I’ve kept it off!!  Here is to annual hugs from Dr. Tanaka and five more years (and then another five, and another….!)

Now down to some cookie business (ironic, I know). Today I put the final touches on my Linzer cookies (which were a bitch because I bought possibly the seediest jar of jam available which I had to strain with the world’s smallest strainer.) But I didn’t realize how artistically fulfilling it is to decorate cookies. I could dust powdered sugar and arrange cookies all afternoon. I followed the recipe for these straight from Joy of Baking.com. They tend to lose their crispness after a day or two, but they are still a favorite. I am also planning on making these with shortbread and raspberry jam and see how they do texturally. Today was a big cookie day. In addition to the Linzers, I made Checkerboard cookies using a sugar cookie recipe (which I am proud to say that I didn’t burn to a crisp!) Only problem with those is that I forgot to omit the baking soda, which causes them to rise and distort the checkerboard pattern. But they still look delightful and taste yummy!! I also put the finishing touches on some Pecan Shortbread cookies. These are also to die for, probably because I substituted browned butter for the butter in the recipe. And then I scrubbed all of the marker and yogurt off my couch cushions…. thank goodness for washable markers!!

(A box of Checkerboards, Pecan Shortbreads, Chocolate Shortbread Balls, Crescents, and Linzers!)

2 responses to “On the Ninth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

  1. Junkyard Sam says:

    More gorgeous cookies!!! I’m looking forward to there being no cookies in the house though, lol. They’ve become dinner too many times. =)

Leave a Reply

