Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

On the Eighth Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

on December 20, 2010

… Eight Brazil-Nut Crescents, Seven Squirming Snapshots, Six Super Strikes, FIVE MOMENTS OF PEACE!!!!! Four Yummy Chocolate Crinkles, Three Rock-hard Sugar Cookies, Two Chocolate Melting Moments and some fabulously delicious Checkerboard Coook-kiiiees!

On my cookie-quest, I found a recipe for Brazil Nut Crescents in The Gourmet Cookie Book. I had seen recipes for Vanillekipferl (vanilla crescents) but they involved making your own vanilla sugar which involved buying a real vanilla bean which I once saw in the store selling for $12. Ouch! This seemingly simplistic recipe intrigued me, mostly because all I knew about Brazil nuts were that they were always left behind in the mixed nut bowl (along with peanuts… because there are always too many peanuts.) I wanted to write down the recipe but it kind of felt like stealing. I figured I could find it online. WRONG. I could not find it anywhere and anything close was written in grams instead of the Standard System of measurement. But I had bought Brazil nuts and I really wanted to make these cookies! So I pulled up a bunch of Vanillekipferl recipes and found what they had in common and then worked some Jessielah magic.

YUM! These cookies made my mouth super happy. I would probably eat these instead of breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I didn’t have to send them all away to start parties in the mouths of friends and family. If I have time, I would like to tweak the recipe a bit, maybe see what happens when they are dunked in chocolate or infused with lemon zest. Regardless, expect to see these in your cookie tin!!

Leave a Reply

