Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

On the Second Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

on December 14, 2010

… two Chocolate Melting Moments and some fabulously delicious Checkerboard Coook-kiiiees!

Everything is better when draped in dark chocolate.

So I was doing the mindless task of wrapping balls of cookie dough in cellophane when my mind began to wander. I am going to enjoy being an old lady. Then if you’re being a know-it-all I can tell you so without having to worry too much because, well I’m old. It’s going to be great, especially since Matt has promised that when I turn 62 he will start carrying me around on his back like the old North Korean couple we saw in the Lisa Ling documentary. Of course by the time I’m 62, 60 will be the new 18 and we’ll have to wait until we’re 74 to retire. But at least I won’t have to worry about wearing out the soles of my shoes.

Now down to some cookie business. I started off with joyofbaking.com‘s Melting Moments recipe. I wanted to have bite sized cookies so I used a tablespoon to measure the balls. However, they grew more than I expected in the oven so next time I will use a 1/2 tablespoon or less. The original recipe calls for the slightly cooled cookies to be rolled in powdered sugar, but I rolled them in melted chocolate (Lindt 70% dark). After they cooled in  the fridge (about 10 minutes) I dusted the tops with powdered sugar. They feel and look like a professional cookie! They are almost too rich, however, and I could only eat half of one without being overwhelmed. It takes a while for all of the flavors to hit you and there is something strange that happens when both the chocolate and the cookie melt in your mouth at the same time, but I can’t keep Jaxon out of the fridge so they must not be that bad!

Kid tested, Jaxon approved.

I’ll post an update when I make the second batch next week.

One response to “On the Second Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

  1. Junkyard Sam says:

    OMG.
    Jax is just adorable… Adorable. And I can’t believe Mylo isn’t going after the cookies!!

Leave a Reply

