Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

On the First Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

on December 13, 2010

… some fabulously delicious Checkerboard Coook-kiiiees!

It is pretty awesome when you make a cookie and it comes out just like the photo that inspired you to make it in the first place.

Well, dear readers, I have managed to pull myself from up under the laundry, Dora DVDs, mopping, train tracks, and diapers and resurface into the blogosphere. For a while I just seemed to have no time to do anything online. I forgot what Facebook even was (and am almost confused by its new and “improved” layout.) But now it’s the holiday season (yay!) and not only have I discovered time to bake cookies for my nearest (and not so nearest) and dearest, I have time to blog again! Whoo! Nothing beats having to run the air conditioner 13  days before Christmas like making cookies and talking about yourself.

Anyhow… these cookie made me very happy inside. It wasn’t that much hard work, just a little patience (and a lot of shooing away Mylo hands) along with butter, sugar, and… hazelnuts! I picked up the recipe straight from joyofbaking.com and followed it to the T. The cookies are good, kind of like shortbread, but a bit sweeter and the chocolate and hazelnut give it a wonderful kick.  I am thinking of making a second batch just using sugar cookies and red and green dyes. Yum! Yum!

3 responses to “On the First Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me…

  1. Junkyard Sam says:

    Wow Jess those turned out great! Awesome photo. I can’t wait to eat them. Please hide the majority so I don’t eat too many. Haha!

  2. sara says:

    Those look FANTSATIC! Am I (perchance) getting some cookies this season for xmas. 😉

Leave a Reply

