Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

SCONES!!

on July 25, 2010

Last week, sick of the same old eggs and toast breakfast (I know, how could you get sick of eggs and toast) I decided to bust out some scones using this just-add-water mix my mom had given me for Christmas. It was incredibly easy. I just added water (and some blueberries), knead 5 or 6 times, shape, bake, and eat! My first bite was nothing like the blueberry scone from Starbucks. So I did a little reading (thank you, Internet) and found that scones are more like biscuits, not hard, odd-shaped cakes. Matt asked if I had enough for him to take to work. I only had 11 (one was snuggled up in my belly at this point). But I was so excited about how tasty my scones turned out, that I decided that I’d make more! Blueberry, orange cranberry, cheese and basil, cinnamon… yum, yum, yum!! And I could try all of them and then send the rest off to hungry game programmers. Win-win.

So after the horror show we had yesterday with Mylo and his teething aggressions, I decided that today would be a wholesome day of baking. I found a basic recipe on-line at greatpartyrecipes.com

Looks simple enough, and I have all the ingredients!

I added in an extra tablespoon of sugar, a dash of cinnamon, 2% milk, salted butter and about a cup of orange-flavored dried cranberries.

Instant Pudding and Marshmallow Treats should take a tip from these delicious Orange Flavored Cranberries!

I didn’t use a full 3/4 cup of milk and the dough was stickier that the instant scone mix, causing me some nervousness as I cut them up and put them in the oven. Some managed to retain their triangle shape, but others were just little dough blobs.

Sticky but still yummy looking.

The scones went into a 400 degrees oven for 12 minutes. I was pleasantly surprised by what I saw.

Yes, they taste as good as they look!

They were crisp and flaky… a bit salty (I had to eyeball a 1/2 tablespoon of salt) but so yummy with butter, jam, and Tetley. Now if I only had some clotted cream…

Jaxon approved! We have a winner!

3 responses to “SCONES!!

  1. Debbi says:

    Very interesting- what is the brand of the scone mix you used at first?
    And did I miss a story re Mylo’s teething aggression?

  2. jessielah says:

    I used the Harry & David scone mix and added in frozen blueberries. They were good but not as good as from scratch… and only slightly less work.

  3. Matt says:

    I ate like 80% of the scones and they were delicious… Not too sweet! But they didn’t work out as leftovers so well for some reason.

Leave a Reply

