Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

The Potty Will Win!

on July 12, 2010

So after many half ass attempts, I have officially, officially, started potty training Jaxon. The last diaper he wore was taken off at 7:30 am this morning and I miss them already so much.

The first accident occurred around 10:30am. We pee-pee’d in the potty before breakfast and then got dressed to go to Lowe’s. I brought the potty with me so Jaxon could go if he needed too. I ask him: Jaxon, do you need to pee-pee? In his high-pitched little voice he replies, “Nooo.”

Okay. Let’s go buy some window hardware. We’re in the aisle forever because I cannot find the hardware I need. After I had given up and started to leave, I notice that Jaxon’s pants are wet. Oh, Jaxon… not fully realizing the enormity of the situtation until I look back and see a pond of pee shimmering in the aisle, complete with koi and decorative greenery. No. No. No. I had brought a change of pants, but forgot about paper towels. (Really, I didn’t think I would ever run into a POND OF PEE.) I do what I can with baby wipes and then rush out of the store so frazzled that I steal something. Sigh. Stress level is at 6 of 10.

So I confess to Matt about my Lowe’s experience and Jaxon pees a bit in the potty. Stress level is reduced to 2 of 10. I make lunch then let the boys play in their room. About 20 minutes later, Mylo comes out holding what I think is a new diaper. Now, how did he get into the diaper drawer? I wonder to myself. And then I see it. Poop. On a clean diaper. Jaxon! I jump up and that is when I  notice that Mylo’s hands are covered in chunky poo. It’s also smeared across his cheek and forehead like he was a commando in the bush. Cccccrrrraaaap!! I run him to the tub, and see Jaxon driving his cars through a GIANT pile of poop, singing the ABCs. FUUUUUUGGGG!! Stress level is 11 of 10. I have to worry about Mylo and his messy hands, Jaxon getting messier, the carpet, where is the dog (who will eat the poop) and then just the whole idea of it. Poop. Everywhere.

I cleaned the boys. I sequestered the dog. I repeated to Jaxon several times that poop is not a toy. I made him help me pick up the poop and told him that poo-poo is for the potty. I made him repeat it back to me.

I almost reached for a diaper. But the poop was gone. The smell was gone.

Stress level 4 of 10. Day one of potty training. The potty will win.

3 responses to “The Potty Will Win!

  1. Ruby says:

    Okay, I have to stop reading because I’m laughing so hard. “…like he was a commando in the bush.” Bwahahahahahahahaha! Oh, Mylo. I can picture that.

  2. Debbi says:

    OMG! You poor thing. On the other hand, I’m kind of glad Jaxon is in CA at this particular point in time, hehe.

  3. niki says:

    oh crap. i did pee my pants on that one. what did you steal? oh, man, i need to calm down…

Leave a Reply

