Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

Shopping on Rue Rivoli.

on June 21, 2010

Day Eighteen of Twenty.

It started raining sometime Friday night. Damn. There goes our Parisian sunshine.

We let ourselves sleep in because unlike the two previous days, today we only had three things to do: Boat tour along the Seine, the Eiffel Tower, and shopping. My feet rejoiced. I remembered that aller meant “to go” so we decided to try and order take away coffee at a french coffee shop. It didn’t really work, but we did leave with 5 ounces of a very strong and very tasty brew. The Seine called out to us, although yesterday would have been a better day to sit on the water and take in the sights. The boat ride left at 1:30pm. It was 12:30pm. I saw a sign for take away coffee. Emporter would be the correct verb to use.

We decided to come back to the boat tour later and do some much needed shopping on Rue Rivoli (much more affordable than Champs d’Elysees.) I found the dress of my dreams, played with some french fashion, and even scored a romper that didn’t pull up in all of the wrong areas.

My French homage to “Come on Eileen

Drained and afraid to try to order cafe de emporter, we went to Starbucks to get a proper sized cafe and then hit not one but two, H&Ms. Mmmm. I spent more than I would ever spend in real life, but as Ruby said, I loved everything I bought and it’s Paris. Paris. How could I argue?

We went back to the hotel, exhausted, but ready to change into our new duds and head over to the Eiffel Tower.

My favorite part is the rainbow luggage strap used as a belt. Tres chic!

Because I was feeling guilty about spending so much (30 euros) on a dress, I suggested we not go up the tower, but sit underneath in the grass and eat our delicious pastries. Ruby concurred. We poured the last of the wine in a to-go bottle and away we went! We took the wrong way on the metro and wound up back at the Arc de Triomphe. For twenty euros, we could get a bicycle cart to tote us to the Eiffel Tower. I’d never done that before and… well it’s Saturday night in Paris!!

The Eiffel Tower was stunning. Simply stunning.

L’amour a la Tour Eiffel.

We tried to find a spot to eat pastries but we kept getting molested by Parisian vampires. They always came in twos. The first ones weren’t bad, and even found the SD card for my camera. The second set tried to peep on Ruby while peeing in the bushes. The third ones I didn’t even see (I was knee deep in tartlet heaven) but they grabbed Ruby while sitting on the bench. Yikes! So we cabbed it home, where I proceeded to find a large chunk of glass in my foot, presumably from the bottle of wine I shattered.

Ouch… good thing I was wearing red shoes.

Fits like a glove…Nice.

Day Eighteen of Twenty. Shopping. Wine. Tour Eiffel. Paris, Je t’aime.

Leave a Reply

