Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

Crazy Heart: A Movie Review (Spoiler Alert)

on May 27, 2010

Day Two of Twenty.

Before the first scene was over, I had pegged the type of movie this would be. Jeff Bridges is an old washed up country star who drowns all his sorrows in booze and self-loathing. He meets Maggie Gyllenhaal and things are good until he does something to screw it up. This event triggers self-realization and he rises up like a phoenix from the flames and has a big rock out farewell concert with everyone he knows and loves cheering him on.

So I turned it off and did the dishes.

Thursday afternoon, Bad Blake (Bridges) and Jeanie (Gyllenhaal) were back on the screen. I was only half paying attention until the “life changing event” happened. I must admit, I was on the edge of my seat. Like Jeanie, I was very hesitant to let her son, Buddy, go off alone with Bad. I knew that he would lose him. I’m not a 57 year old drunk and I almost lost my son! (Mylo escaped from the mall playground and made a mad dash for the escalator.) So yeah, Bad loses Buddy and ruins his chance with Jeanie. He goes to rehab, cleans up, writes music for his famous protege, played by Colin Ferrell. But he doesn’t get his last hoo-rah performance. He doesn’t get the girl. But he does get a chance to be a better person and I kind of liked that.

Later on that night Ruby and I went to Roshani’s for dinner and desert. Roshani was the personal chef for ’90s action star, Steven Seagal.

Our celebrity chef with Miss Ruby.

We had the delectable pleasure of dining on artichoke, gorgonzola, and walnut stuffed ravioli with chicken and balsamic-glazed vegetables. It was delicious. Yum, yum, yum, delicioso!

We stayed up too late watching the exciting last minutes of the Lakers’ game (it was pretty amazing – and that’s coming from a hater of televised sports) and then rounded the evening out with a bottle of Two-Buck Chuck and the last half of Superbad.

Day Two of Twenty. Full. Sleepy. Missing my babies like crazy.

Leave a Reply

