Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

Bean Oil, Anyone?

on May 7, 2010

I’m trying to follow three simple dietary rules: No sick meat (or dairy), no corn in non-corn related products (that’s a work in progress), and no soybeans – eff Monsanto. Well folks, it’s pretty much an impossible task, but I’m trying.

Last night, I’m drinking beer (probably fermented soy-hops) and decide that I should eat something before I get really drunk and do something stupid. You mean like putting your palm through the front window to kill a fly? Exactly. Because it’s fast, easy, and delicious, I make some popcorn. Olive oil is suppose to burn at high temperatures, so instead I grab the Crisco Vegetable Oil.

Note the presence of delicious, crisp vegetables on the packaging.

I’m suddenly curious. What kind of vegetables make up vegetable oil? (In my head I’m thinking carrots, squash, potatoes and other random things I don’t particularly like to eat.) I check the ingredients:

Nice.

How can they call it vegetable oil when it’s only ingredient is soybean oil?? Is the soybean a veggie? Um, not the last time I checked. It’s a legume. Technically, it should be called Legume Oil. But who would buy that? That sounds gross. Legume Oil. Maybe Bean Oil? No. That just sounds like what you get after taking one of those fat absorbing pills. Ewh.

PS. Anyone seen those Smucker’s commercials with those two shitty kids walking around the barn and the strawberry patch talking about what they are going to be when they grow up. “How ‘come no one asks me?” the boy wonders. BECAUSE YOU’RE GOING TO BE A LIAR! (That was done in my scary monster, yell-at-bad-little-kids voice, if you were wondering.)

4 responses to “Bean Oil, Anyone?

  1. Ruby says:

    I’m sticking with bean oil. I checked mine too–!00% pure vegetable oil, only ingredient: soybean oil. Hmmmmm. Sounds fishy to me.

    Update: I have looked up the definition of vegetable and apparently it is not a strict definition type of word. There is the scientific terminology, which just refers to anything that is plant-based (fits that definition). Then there is the culinary/cultural definition, which defines vegetable as an edible plant or part of a plant other than a sweet fruit or seed (hmmmm. Maybe not; legumes are considered a fruit it seems). This is too complicated. Let’s just go with bean oil.

    This is interesting though: English borrowed the term from the French “légume,” which has a wider meaning in the modern language and refers to any kind of vegetable.

  2. Lisa says:

    cold pressed avacado oil, walnut oil, coconut oil, sesame oil, and olive oil. there’s a book I read called The Detox Manual. it’s a short read, but full of good info.

  3. sara says:

    Also, canola oil is very good for cooking. Supposedly much better for you than even olive oil when used at higher temperatures. 🙂 Not sure if it’s better than “vegetable” oil or not, though.

Leave a Reply

