Jessielah!

adventures in awesomeness…

Atonement…WTF?!? (spoiler alert)

on October 14, 2008

I was torn about watching this movie. I heard it was really good (and co-stars my boyfriend, James McAvoy) but I’ve been on a brainless movie kick lately. Yesterday I finally had some free time and decided to watch the flick.

I was instantly excited about reading the book. It was so good. I loathed Briley (and couldn’t think of anything that she could do to redeem herself). But then Jaxon woke up when Briley came to visit her sister and Robbie and I had to stop the movie. Later that night, I started the movie up again after speaking it’s praises to Matt, excited about the ending. It totally effed me!

1. I didn’t know that I only had about 10 minutes left to watch. Total bummer.

2. I didn’t expect that the last 10 minutes would just shatter any good happy love feeling I had about the movie.

THEY BOTH DIED!!! Everything that I had just watched was FAKE??? While that nasty Briley had received fame and fortune from her writing, including the story how she totally fucked over her sister and (possibly) only man she’d been in love with??? Good, I’m glad that you’re dying. And no, writing a book with a happy ending doesn’t excuse you from being a nasty jealous little brat (who knew EXACTLY what she was doing!) She was jealous and made up a story. Oh it was a horrible, horrible, HORRIBLE ending.

And I bet the book is even better.

Leave a Reply

